Vermont Superior Court Environmental Division 32 Cherry Street Suite 303 Burlington VT 05401 802-951-1740 www.vermontjudiciary.org



NRB v Somers Point LLC

JUDGMENT ORDER

23-CC-00008

Findings

A civil citation was filed on 12/19/2023.

Respondent filed a response of No Contest.

ORDER

Judgment is for the Natural Resources Board in the amount of \$1125.00

Electronically signed January 5, 2024, pursuant to V.R.E.F. 9(D).

Thomas G. Walsh, Judge Superior Court, Environmental Division

***In reference to civil citation number 2023_58



10 V.S.A §8019 Civil Citation

Natural Resources Board

Citation Number: 2023_58 VC: NR115 1st Violation

Respondent: Somers Point LLC

Address: P.O. Box 3363

City, State, Zip: Stowe

Phone: 603-718-034

City, State, Zip: Stowe, VT 05672

Respondent committed the following acts in violation of Vermont Law, Statute, Rule, or Permit:

Violation Citation: Violation of an Act 250 rule or an Act 250 permit

Description: Respondent owns a 9.41 acre tract of land located at 2364 Mountain Road, Stowe (the "Project Tract"). On 8/8/22, Respondent filed Land Use Permit (LUP) Amendment Application #5L0402-2 for authorization to undertake residential development (a material change to a permitted development) on the Project Tract. On 5/18/23, the Board's District 5 Environmental Commission issued an Act 250 Notice for Application #5L0402-2, specifying a comment period deadline of 6/13/23 and requirement for Respondent to obtain certain Agency of Natural Resources permits as conditions for release of LUP Amendment #5L0402-2. On 5/30/23, the Board's Enforcement Office was made aware of development activities occurring at the Project Tract. A Board Enforcement Officer's 6/2/23 site visit confirmed that Respondent had commenced construction on the proposed residential development project without first being issued LUP Amendment #5L0402-2, thereby violating Act 250 Rule 34(A).

Town: Stowe

Date: 06/02/2023

Penalties: If you plead ADMITTED or NO CONTEST, you may pay the waiver amount instead of appearing in court. If you plead DENIED <u>and</u> the State proves the violation, the penalty must be within the penalty range plus any court costs.

Penalty Range:	Minimum \$ 300.00	Maximum \$ 1500.00	Waiver \$ 1125.00
Mailed to	o: Registered Agent, K	atherine Laster	
Mailing Address	s: P.O. Box 3363		
City, State, Zij	p: Stowe, VT 05672		
	d: November 6, 2023	by Certified Mail	Chil
-		Christopher Kinnick Signature	
Public Notice & Op comment for a period		certify that a draft of this civil citat	ion was posted for public notice and written
Comments	were received and are attache	d	No comments were received \checkmark
because: Responde	Sivil Relief Act Affidavit: Un nt is a Business or Corpora and Enforcement Officer	ition	OT on active duty in the U.S. armed forces
Signed and sworn at	State of Vermont, County of	1 0	11/6/2023 , before me,
	[Notary Stamp]	Muddy Notary Public S Printed Name_ Commission N	State of Vermont Madeline Cetter o. 157.0015504 n Expires January 31, 2025
	Respon	dent's Plea to this Civil Cit	ation
Mark ("X") you Respondent or		□ No Contest	Denied \Box Date: $1/9/23$
1 1	ess: Po Box 336		

7

Email:



con

Kake hobknobinn.

GENERAL INFORMATION – KEEP THIS PAGE FOR REFERENCE

Background

You are charged with a civil violation within the jurisdiction of the Superior Court Environmental Division of Vermont *pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Section 8019.* The Environmental Division is designed to allow you to speak for yourself without an attorney, but you may hire an attorney at your own expense. The Environmental Division will not provide an attorney to you, and its staff will not provide legal advice to you. The Environmental Court does, however, offer a free legal clinic to provide legal assistance for those unable to afford an attorney. Please visit the following for more information: <u>https://www.vermontjudiciary.org/environmental/legal-services</u>

If you plead "Admitted" or "No Contest" to the alleged violation, then you may waive your right to appear in Court and pay the waiver amount.

If you plead "Denied" to the alleged violation, then you will be scheduled to appear in court at least once. A corporation must have an attorney or corporate officer (i.e. president, vice president) appear in court. A minor should be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

The trial is a summary hearing without a jury. You and the State may offer testimony and exhibits into evidence. All witnesses must appear in person and testify truthfully under oath. Written statements usually are excluded from the evidence.

The issuer of the citation will serve as the prosecutor, unless an attorney for the State is present to prosecute the case. The judge will not discuss the case with you or the prosecutor, except in Court at a hearing. The judge does not have authority to issue a 'warning,' even when leniency is appropriate. The decision to issue a warning, rather than file a citation, rests with the prosecutor.

The burden of proof is on the State to prove the violation by a preponderance of the evidence, which is defined as the violation is more likely than not to have occurred. If the State satisfies the burden of proof, then judgment will be entered against you. If the State fails to meet the burden of proof, the case will be dismissed.

Most decisions are delivered orally in Court at the end of the hearing, but some decisions are issued in writing and mailed to the parties. Occasionally, more than one hearing is required for the judge to reach a decision.

Plea and Payment

All pleadings must be sent to both the Environmental Division and the Natural Resources Board. All payments must be sent to the Natural Resources Board.

How to Plea

Admitted or No Contest

If you plead "Admitted" or "No Contest:" mark your plea and sign at the bottom of the citation. Within 15 days of the date mailed/served on the citation, (1) send the plea to the Environmental Division and (2) send a copy of the plea along with payment of the waiver amount to the Natural Resources Board. After the Environmental Division receives the plea, a judgment will be entered against you.

Denied

If you plead "Denied." mark your plea and sign at the bottom of the citation. Within 15 days of the date mailed/served on the citation, (1) send the plea to the Environmental Division and (2) send a copy of the plea to the Natural Resources Board. The Environmental Division will then schedule a hearing.

YOU MUST DELIVER A PLEA WITHIN 15 DAYS, otherwise judgment will be entered against you by default and you will be liable for the assessed penalty.

How to Pay

Payments can be made via check.

Checks must be made payable to "State of Vermont" and sent to:

Natural Resources Board 10 Baldwin Street Montpelier, VT 05620-3803

Failure to Pay and/or Correct the Violation

If judgment is entered against you and you fail to pay the penalty amount, and/or fail to correct the subject violation, your ability to obtain or operate under a Natural Resources Board permit may be affected, and additional enforcement action may be pursued.

Copying All Parties

Any other pleading, letter, motion, or other correspondence to the Environmental Division related to this civil citation must also be sent to the Natural Resources Board. The Environmental Division intends to digitally scan all written correspondence, therefore, all correspondence should be <u>typed on white letter-sized paper</u> (8 $\frac{1}{2}$ in. by 11 in.) and signed in black or dark blue ink.

Appearance by Third Parties

Under state law (10 V.S.A. Section 8020), a third party may file a request with the Environmental Division to be heard on the sufficiency of the civil citation. If a request is filed, and the Environmental Division decides to allow the third party to appear, you will be notified and given the opportunity to respond.

Additional Enforcement Action

By issuing a civil citation, the issuing entity will not be able to seek an additional penalty for the violation specified in the citation if the waiver penalty is paid, judgment is entered after trial or appeal, or a default judgment is entered. However, the issuing entity may issue additional civil citations or take other enforcement action authorized by law when a violation is continuing or repeated. It may also bring an enforcement action to obtain injunctive relief or remediation, and may recover the costs of bringing that action and any economic benefit obtained as a result of the underlying violation as authorized by law.

Contact Information

The Environmental Division and the Natural Resources Board are open Monday through Friday, except state holidays, from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm.

Vermont Superior Court, Environmental Division 32 Cherry Street, 2nd Floor, Suite 303 Burlington, VT 05401 [phone] (802) 951-1740 [web] www.vermontjudiciary.org

Natural Resources Board 10 Baldwin Street Montpelier, VT 05620-3803 [phone] (802) 828-3309 [email] <u>NRB.Enforcement@vermont.gov</u> [web] <u>nrb.vermont.gov/enforcement</u>