STATE OF VERMONT
SUPERIOR COURT ENVIRONMENTAL DIVISION

| ]

JUDGMENT ORDER

Natural Resources Board,
Petitioner

Citation # 18-EC00177

Spruce Mountain Granites &
Custom Sandblast, Inc.

Respondent )
FINDINGS
A civil citation was filed on: April 27, 2018
Respondent filed a response of
L1 Admitted or
No contest
ORDER

Judgment is for the Natural Res arces Board in the amount of $1000.00
X Court recei ed,penalty payment of $1000.00 on 5/11/2018

tﬁ\ﬁ iy 112015

ThomasG Wals% Judge y
Vermont Superior Court
Environmental Division
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SUPERIOR COURT OF VERMONT
VERMONT ENVIRONMENTAL COURT

Agreement 1300 Payment Number 5135

Receipt of Payment
Spruce Mtn Granites&Custom Sandb, blast Inc.

Received on 05/11/201from Spruce Mtn Granites&Cust in the form of Check 19962

Amount of this Payment: 1000.00
Fine/Fee Docket Number
1327 18EC00177 Ct. 1 1000.00
Original Amount: 1000.00
Total Amount Paid: 1000.00

Balance Owed: 0.00



Natural Resources Board
r‘“nl Citation 10 ‘J'S.A' §8019

AT AL

Respondent Full Name or Oxganization Name: Spruce Mountain Granites & Custom Sandblast Inc.

Citation Number: 18EC00177

Respondent Cutrent Mailing Address: 84 Pitman Road, PO Box 427 - VC:NR118
City/Town: Batte State: VT Zip Code: 05641
Home Phone: - - Business Phone: 886-476-7474  Date of Bitth: N/A M [] F[]

Respondent did commit the following acts in violation of Vermont Law, Statute, Rule, or Permit:

Violation Citation: Failure to abide by Land Use Permit 5W0308-22, Condmons 1 & 2, and Act 250 Rule 34(A) Failure to
obtain a Land Use Permit Amendment priot to construction.

Violation Description: Respondent constructed an addition to manufacturing facility prior to obtaining final permit
 amendment. Permit Amendment 5W0308-22A was ultimately issued. '
Location of Violation: 84 Pitman Road Barre, VI' Date Violation Observed/Occurred: on or about July 2014

Penalties: If you plead ADMITTED or NO CONTEST, you may pay the waiver amount instead of appeating in court. If
you plead DENIED and the State proves the violation, the penalty must be within the penalty range plus any coutt costs.

Penalty Amounts: Minimum $750 - Maximum § 3,000
Assessed $1,333.33 Waiver Amount §1,000

Delivered to (Resp., Reg. Agent, or Corp. Officer): Clem Vaillancourt
Date Served: 4/ 267 18 By Hand [] U.S. Mail Investigatot’s Dept.: ANR

NRB [X]
&7 i
Issuing Investigator Printed Name: Aaron J. Brondyke  Investigator’s Signature: / %7

Public Notice & Opportunity to Comment:
I certify that a draft of this civil citation has been posted for public notice and written comment for a petiod of 30 days []
Commments were received and are attached [_] No comments wete received [_]

Service Members Civil Relief Act Affidavit: Under oath, I state Respondent is NOT on actiye duty in the U.S. armed forces

: : -
Subsctibed and sworn before me, Notaty = § : (g/@z, ( PN lk—/k——f Date(f %5/0{2@‘ g
State of Vermont, County ( o QC Wh ™~ y Commission Expiresfz, //ZD/ 1< {

because: Respondent is under 17 yeats of age ] Respondent is a Business
Respondent said he/she is not on active duty in the U.S. armed forces [ ] Ot

Issuing Investigator Printed Name: Aaron J. Bion yke Investigator’s Signature:




Respondent’s Plea to this Civil Citation

Matk-(5)your plea: Admitted—[—] No-Contest[|—Denied]

Respondent or Cotporate Officet Signature: Date:

Current Mailing Address:

City/Town: State: ___ Zip Code:
Home Phone ' Business Phone

Deliver your ‘plea in person or by mail to the Vermont Supetiot Coutt at:

Environmental Division
32 Cherry Street, 20d Floot, Ste. 303
Buslington, VT 05401

#~ VERMONT




GENERAL INFORMATION
KEEP THIS PAGE FOR REFERENCE
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You are charged with a civil violation within the
jurisdiction of the Superior Court Environmental Division of
Vermont pursnant to 10 1.5 A. Section 8079. The
Environmental Division is designed to allow you to speak for
yourself without an attorney, but you may hire an attorney at
your own expense. The Environmental Division will not
provide an attorney to you, and its staff will not provide legal

advice to you.
If you plead “ADMITTED” or “NO CONTEST” to the

zL‘L‘l \VliU.C[l LUILCbPUIlL‘lCllLC. T‘Uub, ‘ICLLCIb Lllld II]ULi()Ilb b‘llUUid
be typed on white letter-size paper (8 Yz in. by 11 in.) and
signed in black or datk blue ink.

FAILURE TO PAY AND/OR CORRECT THE
VIOLATION

If judgment is entered against you and you fail to pay the
penalty amount, and/ or fail to correct the subject violation,
your ability to obtain or operate under any Agency of Natural
Resources or Natural Resources Board permit may be

alleged violation, then you may waive your right to appear in
Court and pay the waiver amount.

If you plead “DENIED” to the alleged violation, then
you will be scheduled to appear in court at least once. A
corporation must have an attorney or corporate officer (i.e.
president, vice president) appear in court. A minor should be
accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

The trial is a summary hearing without a jury. You and
the State may offer testimony and exhibits into evidence. All
witnesses must appear in person and testify truthfully under
oath. Written statements usually are excluded from evidence.

The issuer of the citation will serve as the prosecutor
unless an attorney for the state is present to prosecute the
«case. The judge will not discuss the case with you or the
prosecutor, except in Court at a hearing., The judge does not
have authority to issue a ‘warning,” even when leniency is
apptopriate. The decision to issue a warning, rather than file a
citation, rests with the prosecutor.

The burden of proof is on the State to prove the
violation by a preponderance of the evidence, which is defined
as the violation is more likely to have occurred than not. If the
State satisfies the burden of proof, then judgment will be
entered against you. If the State fails to meet the burden of
proof, the case will be dismissed.

Most decisions are delivered orally in Court at the end of
the hearing, but some decisions are issued in writing and
mailed to the parties. Occasionally, more than one hearing is
required for the judge to reach a decision.

PLEADING

If you plead “ADMITTED” or “NO CONTEST”: Mark
your plea and sign at the bottom of the Citation. Deliver your
plea to the Environmental Division within 15 days with
payment of the WAIVER AMOUNT shown on the citation.
Pay by check or money order in U.S. funds (make checks
payable to SUPERIOR COURT ENVIRONMENTAL
DIVISION). Judgment will then be entered against you.

If you plead “DENIED”: Mark your plea and sign at the
bottom of the citation, Deliver your plea to the
Environmental Division within 15 days. You will then be
scheduled to appear in court.

YOU MUST DELIVER A PLEA WITHIN 15 DAYS:
otherwise, judgment will be entered against you by default,
and you will be liable for the ASSESSED AMOUNT.

COPYING ALL PARTIES

Any other pleading, letter, motion, or other
correspondence sent to the Environmental Division related to
a civil citation must also be sent to the Natural Resources
Board. The Environmental Division intends to digitally scan

affected.
APPEARANCE BY THIRD PARTIES

Under state law (10 V.5.A. Section 8020), a third party
may file a request with the Environmental Division to be
heard on the sufficiency of the civil citation. If a request is
filed, and the Environmental Division decides to allow the
third party to appear, you will be notified and given the
opportunity to respond.

ADDITIONAL ENFORCEMENT ACTION

By issuing a civil citation, the issuing entity will not be
able to seek an additional penalty for the violation specified in
the citation if the waiver penalty is paid, judgment is entered
after trial or appeal, or a default judgment is entered.
However, the issuing entity may issue additional civil citations
or take other enforcement action authorized by law when a
violation is continuing or is repeated. It may also bring an

* enforcement action to obtain injunctive relief or remediation,

and may recover the costs of bringing that action and any
economic benefit obtained as a result of the underlying
violation as authorized by law.

. Environmental Division

The Vermont Superior Court is open Monday through Friday,
except holidays, between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

Superior Court- Environmental Division

32 Chetry Street, 20d Floor, Ste. 303

Burlington, VT 05401

(802) 951-1740

www.vermontjudiciary.org

Natural Resources Board

Natural Resources Board is open Monday through Friday,
except holidays, between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

Natural Resources Board
10 Baldwin Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-3201
(802) 828-3309

http://nrb.vermont.gov/enforcement
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