STATE OF VERMONT
SUPERIOR COURT ENVIRONMENTAL DIVISION

B

JUDGMENT ORDER
Natural Resources Board, )
Petitioner )
)
V. ) Citation # 17EC00359
)
Curran-Birge Real Estate Partnership, )
Respondent )
FINDINGS
A civil citation was filed on: April 30, 2018
Respondent filed a response of
] Admitted or
No contest
ORDER

Judgment is for the Natural Resources Board in the amount of $575.00
] Court recelvetnalty payment of $575.00 on 5/14/2018

/o \)SS

Thomas G. Walsh Judge
Vermont Superior Court
Environmental Division

May 16, 2018




payrec 5136 05/14/2018 11:45 Page 1

SUPERIOR COURT OF VERMONT
VERMONT ENVIRONMENTAL COURT

Agreement 1301 Payment Number 5136
Receipt of Payment
Curran-Birge Real Estate Prtnshi
PO Box 489
Springfield, VT 05150

Received on 05/14/201from Curran-Birge Real Estate in the form of Check 4411

Amount of this Payment: 575.00
Fine/Fee Docket Number
1328 17EC00359 Ct. 1 575.00
Original Amount: 575.00
Total Amount Paid: 575.00

Balance Owed: 0.00



Natural Resources Board
Civil Citation - 10 V.S5.A. §8019

Respondent Full Name or Organization Name: Curran-Birge Real Estate Partnership — Citation Number: 17EC00359

Respondent Current Mailing Address: PO Box 489 VC: NR112
City/Town: Springfield State: VT Zip Code: 05150
Home Phone: s = Business Phone: 802-886-6217 Date of Birth: / / M[] F[L]

Respondent did commit the following acts in violation of Vermont Law, Statute, Rule, or Permit:

Violation Citation: Failure to abide by approved houts of operation; Condition 12 of Land Use Permit 251314 (Altered)
states, in relevant part, “Slaughter will occur five days a week at peak production rates. There will not be animals on the
premises on the weekends.”

Violation Description: Respondent violated the prohibition against holding animals on the premises on weekends by
holding animals on the premises the weekend of 4/22/2017 to 4/23/2017.

Location of Violation: 25 Faitbanks Road, North Springfield, VI Date Violation Obsetved/Occutted: 4/22/2017-
4/23/2017

Penalties: If you plead ADMITTED or NO CONTEST, you may pay the waiver amount instead of appeating in court. If
you plead DENIED and the State proves the violation, the penalty must be within the penalty range plus any court costs.

Penalty Amounts. Minimum $450 Maximum § 2,000
Assessed $766:66 Waiver Amount $575.00

Delivered to (Resp., Reg. Agent, or Corp. Officer): Mark Curran
Date Served: 4/25/18 By Hand [] U.S. Mail [X] Investigatot’s Dept.: ANR NRB [X]

Issuing Investigator Printed Name: Aaron J. Brondyke  Investigator’s Signaturei/ - ‘ ‘ % *’(4

Public Notice & Opportunity to Comment:

I certify that a draft of this civil citation has been posted for public notice and written comment for a period of 30 days
Comments were received and are attached [_] No comments were received [_|

Service Members Civil Relief Act Affidavit: Under oath, I state Respondent is NOT on active duty in the U.S. armed forces

because: Respondent is under 17 years of age [ | Respondent is a Business [X]
Respondent said he/she is not on active duty in the U.S. armed forces [] ‘% / E ; :

Issuing Investigator Printed Name: Aaron J. Brondyke Investigator’s Signature: ..,/Z?

Subsctibed and sworn before me, Notaly‘ PX \/wm L\C( )])./(/-é\ / DateL// Zﬁ’/ /8

State of Vermont, County( Jﬂf H“(b)')/\ C My Commission Expites:,.” /()/ ‘,7(




Respondent’s Plea to this Civil Citation |

Mark (“X”) your plea: Admitted [ | No Contest[ | Denied|[ | |
Respondent or Corporate Officer Signature: Date:
Current Mailing Address:
City/Town: State: ___ Zip Code:
Home Phone Business Phone

Deliver your plea in person or by mail to the Vermont Superior Court at:
Environmental Division
32 Cherry Street, 27 Floor, Ste. 303
Butrlington, VT 05401

"~ VERMONT




GENERAL INFORMATION
KEEP THIS PAGE FOR REFERENCE

BACKGROUND

You are charged with a civil violation within the
jurisdiction of the Superior Court Environmental Division of
Vermont pursuant to 10 17.8.A. Section 8019. The
Environmental Division is designed to allow you to speak for
yourself without an attorney, but you may hire an attorney at
your own expense. The Environmental Division will not
provide an attorney to you, and its staff will not provide legal
advice to you.

If you plead “ADMITTED” or “NO CONTEST” to the
alleged violation, then you may waive your right to appear in
Court and pay the waiver amount.

If you plead “DENIED?” to the alleged violation, then
you will be scheduled to appear in court at least once. A
corporation must have an attorney or corporate officer (i.e.
president, vice president) appear in court. A minor should be
accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

The trial is 2 summary hearing without a jury. You and
the State may offer testimony and exhibits into evidence. All
witnesses must appear in person and testify truthfully under
oath. Written statements usually are excluded from evidence.

The issuer of the citation will serve as the prosecutor
unless an attorney for the state is present to prosecute the
case. The judge will not discuss the case with you or the
prosecutor, except in Coust at a hearing. The judge does not
have authority to issue a ‘warning,” even when leniency is
appropriate. The decision to issue a warning, rather than file a
citation, rests with the prosecutor.

The burden of proof is on the State to prove the
violation by a preponderance of the evidence, which is defined
as the violation is more likely to have occurred than not. If the
State satisfies the burden of proof, then judgment will be
entered against you. If the State fails to meet the burden of
proof, the case will be dismissed.

Most decisions are delivered orally in Coust at the end of
the hearing, but some decisions are issued in writing and
mailed to the parties. Occasionally, more than one hearing is
required for the judge to reach a decision.

PLEADING

If you plead “ADMITTED” or “NO CONTEST”: Mark
your pléa and sign at the bottom of the Citation. Deliver your
plea to the Environmental Division within 15 days with
payment of the WAIVER AMOUNT shown on the citation.
Pay by check or money order in U.S. funds (make checks
payable to SUPERIOR COURT ENVIRONMENTAL
DIVISION). Judgment will then be entered against you.

If you plead “DENIED”: Mark your plea and sign at the
bottom of the citation. Deliver your plea to the
Environmental Division within 15 days. You will then be
scheduled to appear in court.

YOU MUST DELIVER A PLEA WITHIN 15 DAYS:
otherwise, judgment will be entered against you by default,
and you will be liable for the ASSESSED AMOUNT.

COPYING ALL PARTIES

Any other pleading, letter, motion, or other
correspondence sent to the Environmental Division related to
a civil citation must also be sent to the Natural Resources
Board. The Environmental Division intends to digitally scan

all written correspondence. Thus, letters and motions should

be typed on white letter-size paper (8 ¥z in. by 11 in.) and
signed in black or dark blue ink.

FAILURE TO PAY AND/OR CORRECT THE
VIOLATION

If judgment is entered against you and you fail to pay the
penalty amount, and/or fail to correct the subject violation,
your ability to obtain or operate under any Agency of Natural
Resources or Natural Resources Board permit may be
affected.

APPEARANCE BY THIRD PARTIES

Under state law (10 17.S.A. Section 8020), a third party
may file a request with the Environmental Division to be
heard on the sufficiency of the civil citation. If a request is
filed, and the Environmental Division decides to allow the
third party to appear, you will be notified and given the
opportunity to respond.

ADDITIONAL ENFORCEMENT ACTION

By issuing a civil citation, the issuing entity will not be
able to seek an additional penalty for the violation specified in
the citation if the waiver penalty is paid, judgment is entered
after trial or appeal, or a default judgment is entered.
However, the issuing entity may issue additional civil citations
or take other enforcement action authorized by law when a
violation is continuing or is repeated. It may also bring an
enforcement action to obtain injunctive relief or remediation,
and may recover the costs of bringing that action and any
economic benefit obtained as a result of the underlying
violation as authorized by law.

Environmental Division

The Vermont Superior Court is open Monday through Friday,
except holidays, between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

Superior Court- Environmental Division
32 Cherry Street, 27 Floor, Ste. 303
Burlington, VT 05401

(802) 951-1740
www.vermontjudiciary.org

Natural Resources Board

Natural Resources Board is open Monday through Friday,
except holidays, between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

Natural Resources Board
10 Baldwin Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-3201
(802) 828-3309

http://nrb.vermont.gov/enforcement
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