

ACT 250 List of 1-Acre and 10-Acre Towns

The following is a list, by Act 250 district and county, of 1- and 10-acre towns for the purposes of "development" under 10 V.S.A. § 6001(3) and "subdivision under 10 V.S.A. § 6001(19).¹ Towns that have adopted permanent zoning and subdivision regulations but have elected to remain 1-acre towns are designated with an asterisk (*).

Since at least November 19, 2014, the Natural Resources Board has updated this list on a rolling basis and at the request of duly authorized representatives of individual municipalities. This list does not take the place of a District Coordinator's determination in a jurisdictional opinion and it does not constitute an act or decision of a District Commission. District Coordinators, District Commissions, and the Board will determine whether a municipality is a 1- or 10-acre town based on the latest information available at the time the determination is made and, therefore, such determinations may differ from the designations in this list.

DISTRICT 1 - Rutland County

1-Acre Towns	10-Acre Towns
Benson*	Castleton
Brandon*	Hubbardton
Chittenden	Mendon
Clarendon	Pawlet
Danby	Poultney
Fair Haven	Rutland City
Ira	Shrewsbury
Killington	Sudbury
Middletown Springs	Tinmouth
Mt. Holly	Wallingford
Mt. Tabor	West Rutland
Pittsford	
Proctor	
Rutland Town	
Wells	
West Haven	

TOTAL: 16 TOTAL: 11

¹ Villages within towns are listed separately when they have separate zoning and subdivision regulations.

DISTRICT 2 - Bennington County

1-Acre Towns	10-Acre Towns
Readsboro	Winhall
Searsburg	

TOTAL: 2 TOTAL: 1

DISTRICT 2 - Windham County

1-Acre Towns	10-Acre Towns
Athens	Brattleboro
Brookline	Marlboro
Dover	Newfane
Dummerston	Putney
Grafton	Rockingham
Guilford	Stratton
Halifax	Westminster
Jamaica	
Londonderry	
Somerset	
Townshend	
Vernon	
Wardsboro	
Whitingham	
Wilmington	
Windham	

TOTAL: 16 TOTAL: 7

DISTRICT 2 - Windsor County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Cavendish	Andover
Reading	Baltimore
	Chester
	Ludlow
	Springfield
	Weathersfield
	West Windsor
	Weston
	Windsor

TOTAL: 9

DISTRICT 3 – Rutland County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Pittsfield	

TOTAL: 1 TOTAL: 0

DISTRICT 3 - Windsor County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Bridgewater	Barnard
Hartland	Bethel
Plymouth	Hartford
Royalton	Norwich
Sharon	Pomfret
Woodstock	Rochester
	Stockbridge

TOTAL: 6 TOTAL: 7

DISTRICT 3 - Addison County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Granville	
Hancock	

TOTAL: 0

DISTRICT 3 - Orange County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Chelsea	Braintree
Corinth	Bradford
Topsham	Brookfield
Tunbridge	Fairlee
West Fairlee	Newbury
	Randolph
	Strafford
	Thetford
	Vershire

TOTAL: 5 TOTAL: 9

DISTRICT 4 - Chittenden County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Buels Gore	Bolton
	Burlington
	Charlotte
	Colchester
	Essex
	Essex Junction
	Hinesburg
	Huntington
	Jericho
	Milton
	Richmond
	Shelburne

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
	South Burlington
	St. George
	Underhill
	Westford
	Williston
	Winooski

TOTAL: 1 TOTAL: 18

DISTRICT 5 - Orange County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Orange	
Washington	
Williamstown	

TOTAL: 0

DISTRICT 5 - Lamoille County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Belvidere	Elmore
Cambridge	Hyde Park
Eden	Morristown
Jeffersonville	Stowe
Johnson	Wolcott
Waterville	

TOTAL: 6 TOTAL: 5

DISTRICT 5 - Washington County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Cabot	Barre City
Duxbury	Barre Town
Moretown	Berlin
Roxbury	Calais
Woodbury	East Montpelier
Worcester	Fayston
	Marshfield
	Middlesex
	Montpelier
	Northfield
	Plainfield
	Waitsfield
	Warren
	Waterbury

TOTAL: 6 TOTAL: 14

DISTRICT 6 - Franklin County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Montgomery	Bakersfield
Richford Town/Village	Berkshire
	Enosburg
	Enosburg Falls
	Fairfax
	Fletcher
	Franklin
	Fairfield
	Georgia
	Highgate
	Sheldon
	St. Albans City
	St. Albans Town
	Swanton Town/Village

TOTAL: 2 TOTAL: 14

DISTRICT 6 - Grand Isle County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Alburgh Town/Village	Grand Isle
Isle La Motte	North Hero
	South Hero

TOTALS: 2 TOTALS: 3

DISTRICT 7 - Orleans County

10-Acre Town
Derby
Jay
Newport City

TOTAL: 18 TOTAL: 3

DISTRICT 7 - Caledonia County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Barnet	Burke
Danville	Hardwick
Groton	Lyndon
Kirby	St. Johnsbury
Newark	Sutton
Peacham	Waterford
Ryegate	
Sheffield	
Stannard	
Walden	
Wheelock	

TOTAL: 11 TOTAL: 6

DISTRICT 7 - Essex County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Averill	Maidstone
Avery's Gore	
Bloomfield	
Brighton	
Brunswick	
Canaan	
Concord	
East Haven	
Ferdinand	
Granby	
Guildhall	
Lemington	
Lewis	
Lunenburg	
Norton	
Victory	
Warner's Grant	
Warren Gore	

TOTAL: 18 TOTAL: 1

DISTRICT 8 - Bennington County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Glastenbury	Arlington
Landgrove	Bennington
North Bennington	Dorset
Peru	Manchester
Stamford	Old Bennington
	Pownal
	Rupert

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
	Sandgate
	Shaftsbury
	Sunderland
	Woodford

TOTAL: 5 TOTAL: 11

DISTRICT 9 - Addison County

1-Acre Town	10-Acre Town
Shoreham	Addison
	Bridport
	Bristol
	Cornwall
	Ferrisburgh
	Goshen
	Leicester
	Lincoln
	Middlebury
	Monkton
	New Haven
	Orwell
	Panton
	Ripton
	Salisbury
	Starksboro
	Vergennes
	Waltham
	Weybridge
	Whiting

TOTAL: 1 TOTAL: 20

TOTAL 1-ACRE TOWNS: 125 TOTAL 10-ACRE TOWNS: 137

Last updated: July 16, 2024